Vicking Dragonhead Recycled Plastic Bottle Boat

plastic boat 2

This is  a very simple and fun boat to make, using a plastic bottle and waterproof foam.

You will need two plastic bottles, a dragon template, the  template I used I got from here:  ( Dragon Head Silhouette Red clip art – vector clip art online, royalty free & public domain.), wiggle eyes, colored foam, scissors, straw, a puncher, a lollipop stick  and some elastic bands..

Cover your two plastic bottles with a piece of foam with the color of your choice using a elastic band to attach the foam on the bottle. Using the template at  Dragon Head Silhouette Red clip art – vector clip art online, royalty free & public domain import it to word where you can enlarge it to the size you desire and then print it. Modify the drawing to make it practical to cut. I removed the tongue and shortened some back scales to make a more solid template to cut out. Place the modified printout on the foam and cut. Decorate the boat using small colored foam circles. Slide the dragon in between the two bottles, I used the lollipop sticks to help push it in and then pulled the sticks out. Now the foam is inserted between the bottles but still “floppy”. At this point I used the lollipop sticks to give support by slightly inserting them between the bottles and upwards to support the foam from falling sideways. I used scotch tape to attach the sticks to the foam.

For the sail I used as you can see in the pictures. At the top I put a small flag. If the straw is to short, then insert a second straw into the first one to make it longer. If the straw is too weak, then strengthen it by winding scotch tape around it.

The sail is simply a piece of colored foam which I decorated by attaching four strips of foam of a different colour. I you feel like making it more decorated, you can use the same idea with the dragon head. I simply attach a wiggly eye, but you could even make some scales with thin stripes of foam (or draw with sharpie waterproof pens) – your choice. Have fun.

It even floats and is waterproof so you can play with it with the children.

plastic boat 3

plastic boat 4

plastic boat 1

9 thoughts on “Vicking Dragonhead Recycled Plastic Bottle Boat

  1. craftyminx1980 says:

    This is pretty cool, I have seen a cardboard viking ship on pinterest which I have been wanting to make with my boys, but this on is so much better as it can actually go in the water! I think we will be making this one instead!

  2. gentlestitches says:

    Great activity particularly for kids who like adventure themes. Also thanks for that great link to the public domain. The generosity of “net people” continues to uplift me. 🙂

  3. now at home mom says:

    Izabel, this is another fun project to do with my son; he would love it 🙂 I tried the one ‘cardboard box buildings’ he loved it, we played for a long time with his cars! 🙂

Leave a Reply

